Weaves | Nervus – Boileroom, Guildford 4th July 2016

I missed Barney Packer and Grafted because I was watching the Tour de France highlights – go Cav!  Bad Wild Eye.  Sorry Barney Packer.  Sorry Grafted

Nervus had their moments.  Not bad at all, would be more than happy to see them listed as a support act for a band I wanted to see.  Curious.  But I didn’t get ‘em, nothing grabbed me and shook me.  Were they a guitar bass drums back-drop to a keyboardist / vocalist / performance artist?  Probably not, but they could have been.  On their Bandcamp page they describes themselves as “melodic punk pop pop punk emo indie rock math rock”. That’s probably fair.  They could be a case study for a series of posts I have planned (watch this space).

http://nervus.bandcamp.com/

Wowzers.  Weaves are a top, tight band.  Robotic at times, afro-beat, peverse, damn fine, tight, really alternative and odd.  It helps when a band has a really tight rhythm section, with individually brilliant drummer and bassist.  Add a shit hot vocalist and a fine fine guitarist and some strange twisted indie soul pop songs and you have a really decent weird pop band.

If you gave Sonic Youth a more stereotypically talented singer and a couple of Foals records and told them to go make hits, they might sound like this.   If they were on Later… they’d definitely be one of the best bands of the night… but the flip-side to this undoubted compliment is that they are a bit too much of a Later… band.  They’re in no way bland, but they are perhaps a bit too nice for my tastes.  Very twee at times too… again not something I particularly object too, I have my cutie / Sarah past, but then again not something I’m looking for in my life right now.

Go see Weaves.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

