Trial and Error All-dayer

I’m not going to say too much, not least as I missed most of it.

Sanctuary.  Basingstoke.  Sunday 16th October 2016.  LOADS OF BANDS.  Cos I am so busy and important I missed most of it.  Thanks to Stefan Powell for organising, and well done all involved for the cash raised towards CDH UK.

I saw three bands, and they’re all bands I have seen before.  Space Church had just started when I arrived.  I really like them.  I recommend the album.  Highly.  They prove that you don’t need noise noise noise to make challenging music.  They prove that you can mix things up and still sound like a proper band.  The only downside is the set-list seems to stick too close to the album… are you not writing new stuff?  Why not chuck in the odd older song?

Warren Schoenbright.  I like them.  I love the drummer, I like the bass.  There’s two things I don’t particularly like, both of which say a shit load more about me than they do WS.  (1)  I love noise, but I love songs too.  WS don’t much do songs.  (2)  The third member.  Laptop and other hardware.  I have no problem with bands not being fully live with real instruments all the way… but I don’t like not knowing what someone is doing, and I also think – probably completely illogically – that if you’re gonna stick a computer on stage then get the fucking thing to do everything for you.  Press the fucking button and let it do its thing, then remove the laptop from the (non-)stage at the end of the set.  Stand next to it if you want.  Do a bit of fiddling if necessary.  But spending all set fucking around with shit that should be done by the computer also sat right next to you – what a waste of time.  Anyway, as I say, that’s my problem not theirs.

Slug13.  Nice.  Really nice.  I’ve started checking out more of their music online and its damn good.  I don’t really now what more to say.  The vocals were (very) quiet, the songs were loud.  They remind me massively of Mudhoney as I’ve said before, but that’s much more down to the fact that I love Mudhoney and I don’t know as many of the other bands who were around at the time as I should, both those that were grunge and those that shared elements of the grunge sound.  Should probably start with Tad and The Jesus Lizard – I like it when bands help you with their influences.  Never really listened to Tad apart from the odd song on John Peel back in the day.  I have “Head” on vinyl, but it hasn’t had a play in probably 23 or 24 years.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

