Greenhorn, Aklash, Morass of Molasses, Pensevor – Buffalo Club, Star Inn, Guildford, 30th October 2016

I love heavy music played with guitars… but I would really not describe myself as a metal fan.  Don’t get me wrong, there’s a fair bit I like and sub-genres I have a bit of a soft spot for, but I ain’t no metaller.  Basically I’m an indie kid, only generally the noisier, experimentalier and punkier end alt-rock.  Just to be clear when I say I’m an ‘indie’ ‘kid’ I do not wish for you to assume that –

I am a kid

or

I am ‘indie’ in the 21st century “fucking boring, offensively backward-looking, bland, rocky, poppy music made with guitars by the sorts of cunts who describe themselves as ‘grunge’ and sound like (yet another fucking) foals rip off band.”  Still, it sidesteps all accusations of cultural appropriation if you ignore the source material and simply rip off the most boring band in the western world.  Sorry Foals, I forgot that Alt-J exist, you’re second bottom.

Aklash were third on.  They are just not my thing at all, sorry Aklash.

Greenhorn were, I presume, on last.  I missed them, just knackered, left.  In my defence I have a littl’un and had spent the six hours before the gig drinking beer, watching sport on TV, and strumming my new Jag.  And it was getting pretty late.  9.45pm or something utterly ridiculous, and actually 10.45pm in body-time if you think about it.  I am rock n roll personified but there’s only so far I can go past my normal bedtime.

Onto Morass of Molasses.  Great name, but you knew that.  They know that. Everyone knows that.  They have inspired Law 104,657 in my ‘Programme of discipline for when the Dictatorship begins’, a rather long document that I have been working on for a decade or two now.  It states.  “No male metal band member’s hair shall be longer than the beard length of the longest beard in their band.”  That’ll fuck with loads of band’s images, but Morass of Molasses will walk tall and walk proud, unaffected but my imposition of a greater level of discipline on the metal populace.

I can’t do huge amounts of justice to their sound, they’re out of my comfort zone…stoner rock / metal, sludge, swampy blues are the sorts of things that come to mind and / or get bandied around… I enjoyed their set a lot.

Pensevor were on first and I loved them, I really did.  First time I’ve seen them.  Definitely the least metal of the 3 bands I saw, but also the heaviest and most out-there.  I can only describe them like this… Sunn O))) / Earth… slow and simple drums and bass provide the backdrop for the two others… it really helps when the singer has a voice and a presence… but the guitar… so so good… such good sounds, just an insanely out of control tone (augmented by volume that might be described as as “on the high side”.  Properly good.  Their bandcamp page says “Pensevor are a four piece (vocals, guitar, bass and drums) from Farnborough, forming in 2011 to play hypnotic, primitive, regressive drop-C Neanderthal sludge-doom.”  If that sounds like your thing then you, sir, madam, have good taste.  Will be seeing them again soon I hope.  Fuck yeah. 

Sorry Greenhorn.  Sorry.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

