ALLUSONDRUGS / Icarus Dive / Silent Mode – The Star Inn, Guildford, 30th June 2017

Silent Mode somewhat confused me when I first saw them, my fault not theirs. Second time around I just got on with enjoying their take on the desert / stoner thing. They look like a proper band. They are – to me – pretty poppy, or maybe I’m just saying that they can write a riff and a song. And they really can. I perhaps veers towards bands that are more wilfully heavy or challenging… but I’m tempted to state my take on Silent Mode in the following sentence. Of all the local bands who are, in my opinion, worth making an effort to go see, this mob (can two people be a mob?) are the most likely. Really enjoyed them… actually one more thing… there’s something really lazy and flowing and easy about the way they play.

Icarus Dive. I missed At The Drive-In first time around. Later I got into them. More recently I listened to them and wondered if I actually like them at all. I have four things to say about Icarus Dive –

(1) They remind me of At The Drive In and there’s a lot about the music to like.

(2) I don’t advise bands to have backdrop stands on stage that look like the sort of thing that you’d get in a conference centre. I would advise Coldplay against such a thing were they to be playing a conference for a group of suited business-people. I would advise Icarus Dive – playing noisy shit in a pub – against such a thing even more.

(3) They had double the crowd of the headliners and quadruple that of Silent Mode. They’ve got a decent following by the looks of it.  Impressive. They must be doing something very right.

(4) Whatever the fuck it is I don’t get it.  Sorry.

ALLUSONDRUGS are a highly rated band from Leeds who I was lead to believe were a bit psych and a bit grunge. Early on in the set I was taken back to 90/91, but thinking “ain’t this more shoegaze or Madchester than it is grunge?” I think pigeonholing this lot is a mugs game – they’re indie-rock in the widest sense; they seem to have a lot of early 90s influences, they rock, they entertain, they have a really good frontman. Not sure there was enough of a USP to blow me away, but they’re well worth seeing if you like the grungier end of indie. Fine fine band.

And something about the promoter.  Chris Jasta 11 deserves massive praise for being a guy who gets bands from all over, bands getting a bit of well-deserved attention, and damn fine local bands.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

